Celebrating Our Scholars

Please take a moment to congratulate all our scholars, current as well as alumni, on their academic performances and upholding the St. Joseph’s standards of excellence!

National Merit Scholarship Program

Congratulations to seniors Glenn Andrew, Christopher Baumgarten, Gunnar Johanning, and Brooks McCoy, who have been named Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the Preliminary SAT (PSAT) or National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors.

Congratulations to seniors Julian Hodge and Charles Vandross, who were both named Semifinalists in the 2015 National Achievement Scholarship Program. Conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, this program honors academically promising black youth throughout the nation and provides scholarships to a substantial number of the most outstanding participants. More than 1,600 seniors nationwide received this honor, and they will be notified in January 2015 of their standing as Finalists.

Congratulations to Philip Coburn, Keyes Gilmer, Paul List, Patrick McLear, and William Tierney, who were named National Merit Semifinalists out of a class of 93 seniors. Ranked in the top one percent of the nation’s high school students, these seniors will be notified in February 2015 of their standing as Finalists. The National Merit Scholarship Program, a privately financed academic competition for recognition and scholarships, bases its awards on high school student results on the PSAT.

AP Scholars

The College Guidance Office recently reported that SJCS students scored an 85% pass rate on Advanced Placement (AP) exams completed this past spring. Of the 244 AP exams taken, SJCS students scored a “3” or better on 208 of the exams. A score of “4” was earned on 63 of the exams, while a score of “5” was earned on 59 exams. SJCS students took the AP exams in May of 2014 after completing college-level courses at St. Joseph’s. Students must score between “3” and “5” on a five-point scale to earn college credit. Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on these exams. The state pass rate was reported at 58% and the national pass rate was 59%.

Forty-one SJCS students earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement (AP) exams completed in May of 2014. The College Board’s Advanced Placement program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous, college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both based on the successful performance on theses exams.
Alec Biscopink and Ben Dunphy qualified for the “National AP Scholar Award” by earning a score of 4 or higher on eight or more exams.
Olivia Baumgarten, Alec Biscopink, Kathryn Corasaniti, Ben Dunphy, Christopher Heijjer, Dani Leon, Alex Luzzatti, Wil Magaha, Grace Mosley, Alexander Powell, Natalie Rogers, Sean Rusnak, and Noah Schammel qualified for the “AP Scholar with Distinction Award” by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.
Ryan Bertling, Andrew Burnikel, Jordan Chamberlin, Stephen Krupka, Carol Lewis, Patrick McLear, Elizabeth
Noblet, Alexandria Wise, and Charles Yearwood qualified for the “AP Scholar with Honor Award” by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.
Glenn Andrew, Joseph Andrews, Ryan Bergman, Stan Bikulege, Philip Coburn, Jennifer Coggins, Keyes Gilmer, Patrick Hudak, Taylor Jones, Paul List, Austin Mattison, Tucker McMillen, Joe Morelli, Nicole Pares, Campbell Plumblee, Kuba Ratkowski, William Tierney, Austin Van Houten, and Connor Vogt qualified for the “AP Scholar Award” by completing three or more AP exams with scores of 3 or higher.

Duke TIP Qualifying Students

Congratulations to the thirty-six SJCS seventh graders, representing 42% of their class, who qualified for participation in the Duke University Talent Identification Program (TIP):  Maclean Armstrong, Peter Baer, Joshua Barrow, Anna Rose Bradley, Zachary Buchanan, Justin Chamberlin, Spencer Chea, Margaret Coburn, Ridley Crane, Mark Curry, Ava Dobson, Rachel Girvin, Anna Impeduglia, Caleb Krall, Jada Lucero, Meghan Malone, Mackenzie Manfredi, Joshua Masters, Michael McLeer, Aiden Miller, Alexander Miller, Juliana Moore, Alice Norton, Neil Patel, Isabel Poinsette, Deepthi Prabhakar, Ava Quigley, Nicholas Rodriguez, Jason Sheldon, Adam Shirley, Gavin Sullivan, Julia Thompson, Shivam Vadalia, Julia VanPutte, Russell Warren, and William Zeimetz. These seventh graders became eligible by their achievement on the Iowa Test of Basic Skills (ITBS) or other standardized tests that they took in sixth grade, having scored in the top five percentile in one of the qualifying verbal, math, science, or social studies sections. They are now invited to take the SAT or ACT in December, January, or February for academic recognition.

National Honors Society

The school’s annual induction ceremony for the St. Joseph’s chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) was held on October 3rd in a special school-wide ceremony in the gym. Sixteen new members were inducted into one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. NHS students, selected by a Faculty Council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character, must have a cumulative weighted average of 85 or higher, as well as demonstrate excellence in leadership and service through activities in both the school and the community. Congratulations to Jake Armstrong, Hayne Arrington, Thomas Fawcett, Jessica Forry, Sara Gibson, Keyes Gilmer, Juliet Jacob, Carissa Leonard, Madeline McChesney, Sean McDermott, Kuba Ratkowski, Neal Satterfield, Bridget Swartz, Victoria Schwark, Jessica Weaver, and Emma Wettenhall.